the Selfie-Syndrome

the Selfie-Syndrome

I recently came across this “infographic” making the connection between social media and the personality disorder, “narcissism.” It’s a creative, graphical way of making an argument against a set of technologies. No doubt, social media has changed our own ways of thinking of ourselves. This may be especially powerful for children growing up with this media, and may have long-term effects on our own human evolution if we continue at it (an example of technogenesis). Has this been a largely pathological change, as this info graphic claims, or is it beneficial in some way? Is its evidence persuasive?

Click on the image for a link to the original page with more info.

7 Comments

  1. This is really interesting. It is true since social media such as snap chat, facebook, and instagram we often become very narcissistic. You often cannot go a day without catching someone taking a selfie of themselves in public or on instagram a picture of themselves with a catchy comment. This is a really cool chart and I think it’s important for people to read it!

  2. This is most definitely accurate to the last word. I usually find that if someone has a lot of selfies on their profile then they are more selfish/ narcissistic than a person with only a few. Also the twitter section made me think about the people I follow and how they act in person. I only post on twitter about 1-2 a month while I know people who post 10-15 times a day. They think that they are the most important person in the world and that everyone should believe what they do. I don’t believe that the world should work this way and that people’s opinions are being valued too greatly. Like my dad always says “Opinions are like butts; Everyone has one and they all stink”.

  3. I think the the characteristic of narcissists described in the info graphic is mostly accurate. I had a friend back in high school and she was a narcissist. She often takes out her phone and start taking picture of herself, and she does this EVERYDAY, including going on a field trip. Most of time when I log onto Facebook, I can see her picture displaying with photoshop effects. Another narcissist characteristic that fits her is getting angry very quickly. She would do anything to payback if you irritated her, even with a criticizing sentence. She would first give a dirty look and then start gossiping about you.

  4. Yup. This is one of the main reasons why I hate social media. Whether it’s snap chat, instagram, facebook, twitter. Some odd reason, human beings love to portray themselves as being better than others.
    It’s a combination of narcissism and egotism.
    Now I will say, the only selfie I’ve truly liked is this one

  5. This is extremely accurate. Ever since social media came about, I feel as if people are becoming narcissistic. Every time I go out somewhere, I always seem to find someone taking a selfie of themselves, and 9 times out of 10, I’m pretty sure they’re taking it for social media. It’s like you’re in a competition of “my life is better than yours…here look at this as proof” on social media.

  6. I think this is very true. I know people who will sit and take selfie after selfie until they get the perfect one. I am not big in to social medial and do not use what I do have very often. I once watched a friend put on a full face of make-up just to take a selfie. Social media is creating a society full of narcissus.

  7. I actually do not have a problem with any of this. I think this is just another fad that will go away just like the rest. Right now we are in the selfie generation but sooner or later something new will come along and kill the selfie.

Leave a Reply

