easier said than done: journal

A day without a phone sounds doable. It’s just a day! 24 hours out of the many hours out of the many hours we have lived and will live. For older generations it may seem like a very doable task, but for people of my generation (the younger generation) this is an almost impossible and very testing task. Some will make it, some will not. We are constantly connected to the world outside rather than where we are at that moment. We are constantly making plans for that evening, that vacation next month. We are religiously checking our email for work, school, and other various things on our phones. We keep in touch with friends and family around the world or just in the room next to us. We use our phones to update our lives with various social media. We express our lives through pictures with Instagram, update our friends and family of life events on Facebook, and we tweet our thoughts, feelings, opinions on twitter. We are a generation that wants things now rather than wait till later. In this blog post I will take you through my experience and thoughts about a day without a phone.

             It was Christmas break and I was home with all my family. I am the baby of my family and my siblings are in their late 20’s early 30’s. I being the youngest and most picked on am naturally am always called out on spending too much time on my phone. I can’t help but be glued to my phone. I am constantly around people my age who are dependent on their phones just like me. Them being older they just don’t understand the importance of being connected constantly to what’s going on. My brother-in-law offered me a sweet deal that any poor college student would be crazy to turn down. He said if I could do a whole day without my phone he would give me 60 dollars. My first thought was “this is going to be easy”. The terms of the agreement was…

  1. No use of the phone (obviously)
  2.  No touching of the phone (checking to see who texted/called me)
  3. It has to be left out on my kitchen island for temptation (taking the phone and putting it away would be too easy)

If any of these conditions were violated then the 60 dollars was off. I was very distraught at first because I had several conversations going on about plans later that evening with my friends and I had no time to explain to them what was going on. I sat there eating breakfast listening to my phone buzz and it took everything not to run to my phone and respond. My brother-in-law loved watching the desperate look on my face when the phone would start buzzing. Later that day my family and I went for a hike.. I started to forget my phone and enjoy the time we had together. It felt good to just focus on one thing rather than checking up on what others are doing. I did make it all day without my phone, I struggled but I ultimately made it and got the 60 dollars. I learned something from that day. I learned that it’s important to just stop and take in the world around you at that moment. Sometimes we are so wrapped up in taking the perfect picture for Instagram, updating people on what we are doing, and caring too much about what others think/do to take in the little moments of life. I am not going to say that since then I never use my phone anymore, but I am now aware of the importance of putting down my phone and enjoying the time I am having at that moment with my family, friends, or even myself.  

5 Comments

  1. I had a very similar experience when I went a day without my phone. I just had an uncontrollable urge to see what was going on in the online community. I completely agree that one aspect of social media is keeping updated on your friends lives, but another aspect is the constant need for approval and attention through “the perfect picture for instragram”.

  2. I like the feeling that you are sharing with us about family. I have to admit that sometimes I also feel like putting down what is on my hand and spend some time with my family. What we get from spending time with our family is what we cannot get from sending messages on our phone. For example, laughing, I don’t think words came from the screen of our phone would be the same as talking to our family face to face with emotional words, just the feeling is different.

  3. I wish my family gave me money to not touch my phone! My whole family uses their phone pretty regularly but the only time when we are not allowed is at the dinner table. I love this rule. It forces my family to talk to each other. We are a very close family and I think it is due to turning off all electronics at the dinner table.

  4. Great post! I agree that our usage of electronic device has clouded us from reality and what truly matters. Which is being free and not having temptations to need to look at your phone. It took me awhile to adjust too but I felt the same way afterwards. I forgot all about my phone eventually which felt great for me but I didn’t know the time or my schedule and worst of all texting. And that’s great you got 60 dollars from that it was well worth it then to keep your phone on your kitchen island.

  5. I also feel like family is ne reason technology is prevalent for me. Whether its wanting to remain connected or keeping updated, its all done through technology. Although one could argue if that really constitutes as being connected.

Leave a Reply

