Idea for final project

Idea for final project on the importance handwriting

 

For my final project I am planning on doing the importance of handwriting and handwritten things such as letters. I think handwriting is a dying art that should be preserved rather than let die out. “How you craft letters and words can indicate more than 5,000 different personality traits, according to the science of graphology, also known as handwriting analysis,” (Real Simple). Who knew there was a science behind handwriting and that it could tell you about more than 5,000 different personality traits?! People instead of taking the time to buy a greeting card or sit down and write a handwritten letter shoot a quick email or text. It’s less thoughtful and special in my opinion. So for my project I plan on doing research on graphology and why we should still teach cursive and what cool things we can take away from our handwriting. I plan on sending out letters to people and ask them to write back and tell me if they would rather get something in the mail or on their email.

            Here is a link to a website I found on reading handwriting. Already I was interested and started exploring more into graphology. I had no idea that your writing slant could tell something about yourself!  If Your Writing Slants…

To the right: You are open to the world around you and like to socialize with other people.
 
 To the left: You generally like to work alone or behind the scenes. If you are right-handed and your handwriting slants to the left, you may be expressing rebellion.
 
 Not at all: You tend to be logical and practical. You are guarded with your emotions.

 

http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/life-strategies/handwriting-101-00000000015886/index.html

 

As I researched more into this topic I realized there is so much that we can learn about people and their handwriting. There was a article that I found when searching OSU’s database that they did a study on handwriting in depressed people and those who were not. They found significant results that those who were depressed drew and wrote slower.

            I look forward to researching more into this topic.  I plan to do an analysis of my own handwriting and of the people who write back to me from the letters I send and put it in a portfolio for my final project. This is something that not many people know about and this will be something different and interesting. I will also try to find some blogs that explore this and enlighten myself some more on this topic for my final project. I hope to achieve a couple things from this final project. One would be to become aware just how dependent we are on technology to communicate via email and text. I want to make a case for just how important a letter in the mail may be to someone rather than an email. Can’t wait to continue my research on the topic and share with the class what I have found. 

1 Comment

  1. After reading this writing and visiting the website, I begin to think that it is interesting how handwriting could determine your characteristic. I can see that the study is accurate, at least in the case of my brother. Some of his words in his writing slants to the left, according to the result of study of graphology, he does act rebellion.

Leave a Reply

