Technology in Education

The importance of education is something that can never be overstated. Education gives us knowledge, a perspective of life, and builds character. Education is key. With progressing technology, education is now more accessible. Modern technology allows educators to share ideas online to improve teaching techniques, students have accessibility to homework help and research information, and some students can even study entire online and work at their own pace. When advancing into higher education levels, technology becomes a key role.

Secondary schools are leaning more towards the use of computers and tablets. When entering the 7th grade, my younger cousin was given an iPad that she will keep until graduation. The iPad is used for most class activities and for about 90% of her homework. She can watch lectures online and participate in chat groups among her peers when outside the classroom. Also, a lot of schools have computer labs and require a certain amount of computer-based classes as a graduation requirement. When student move onto post-secondary education, they find college is defiantly technology based. Professors keep in contact with students through emails, post important information, lectures, and assignments on the school’s academic website, and expect neatly typed assignments. When going to college, it is highly recommended, almost expected, that students will have some type of computer or tablet. Of course you don’t necessarily have to own these items, but you’ll definitely spend the majority of your time in the library typing papers or going through books for research.

With all these advancements, technology is slowly taking away from the traditional schooling. Instead of going to the library for research, we can simply hop on a computer and goggle scholarly articles or get digital copies of books. Most homework assignments are accessed and turned in online. Even this class requires access to the Internet to make blog posts. Technology is definitely impacting education, but has anyone ever stop to think if it is a positive impact or a negative impact?

Just like anything, there are pros and cons to technology and education. When I think of the negatives, I think of the fast advancements of technology. Educators have to prepare students for the technology advancements they might face in the future. Today’s technology is tomorrow’s out-of-date. Another negative idea is the limited use of pencil and paper. In class, Seth makes emphasis on the importance of these technologies. Although this thought isn’t that serious, I realized the use of pencil and paper is not as popular; when we need to write something, we type it. Also, I think the future generation will have decreased math skills. Students can use a calculator for math classes, whether it’s basic math or calculus, which takes away from developing strong analytical skills. Now on a positive note, technology has made more opportunities available. I’ve taken several online classes, and I am currently enrolled in one this term, and I find it much easier to fit hem into my schedule. I can take classes that interest me, along with the requirements for my major. If I need help with an assignment, or a better understanding of a subject, there are resources available at my fingertips.

5 Comments

  1. I agree that the educational effects of technology are both positive and negative. Another positive is that, similarly to teachers sharing information and lesson plans easier to make better classes, students can share ideas and I feel that research for papers and projects can be completed with better efficiency. My concern for elementary and grade school kids and using these technologies, is their self control. I feel like I find the use of technology for schoolwork very distracting and I have my own issues with self control, so I feel that younger children would have an even harder time and would not be able to reach their full potential of learning.

  2. Personally, I find the use of technology in education extremely distracting. It took me years of using a laptop in lass to feel like i could control my impulses enough to keep up with what was going in class as well as use my tech effectively. It is still extremely easy to start looking at something and get distracted. I don’t know what can be done to actually make this possible.

  3. I don’t think the use of technology in education is a better or worse thing, it is just different. We are moving into an age where technology is booming and education is right there with it. Some of our parents have trouble with smartphones and computers because it was not required to use these technologies in school and our generation will be well-versed in this field. It makes you wonder what we will have trouble grasping when we are older. I am a fan of technology in education but am not opposed to the more traditional ways of education and teaching.

  4. Technology has had a serious influence on education and continues to do so. I think it is a good thing because we keep having technological advances that become an important part of our culture. On the other hand I do not think we should let some things get left behind. You mention hand writing I think it so important and something that society should not stop doing in favor of typing. Both are important I feel we can have technological advances but we don’t always have to replace previous behaviors or process. In some cases both can exist like being able to hand write and type.

  5. I agree that technology has a big influence on education and our generation has seen it grow before our eyes. I remember getting smart boards and thinking that was a big deal, now children in school hardly know or have used a chalk board. I believe that technology has been such a great tool. Like Khan academy a online math website where it has virtually every type of math help you could think of. I also think that people need to be able to interact with a pen and paper and go and look for books at the library. Technology must be used in moderation. Sometimes I feel as though we go too far with it.

Leave a Reply

